Best Fantasy books. Not a definitive list.

I’ve been a fan of fantasy since 11. I didn’t start with The Lord of The Rings. Rather I started with one of the classics  The Elfstones of Shannara.

This list is Not definitive. So what you might consider the beCompany ght not fit my definition. Some books in my opinion are overrated. Examples include the aforementioned Lord of the rings, Ursula LeGuin books, C.S Lewiss’ books, The Dark Company, The Dark Tower etc. 

I’m not saying you should avoid them. They are simply overrated. In my opinion. 

Now to the main part of the post. Here are the fantasy books I’ve read and I’ve simply been blown away. I recommend them to everyone, not just fantasy fans because they are that awesome.

Not in order of awesomeness. Here they are (drumrolls)

1. The KingKiller Chronicles 


Author: Patrick Rothfuss 

Number of Books: 3 but just 2 published(still waiting for Patrick to get his stuff together) 

 I have stolen princesses back from sleeping barrow kings. I burned down the town of Trebon. I have spent the night with Felurian and left with both my sanity and my life. I was expelled from the University at a younger age than most people are allowed in. I tread paths by moonlight that others fear to speak of during day. I have talked to gods, loved women, and written songs that make the minstrels weep. You may have heard of me.

Enough said.

This book is pure joy. It’s one of those books you will lose sleep for. Kvothe is one of the most endearing characters you will ever come across. Smart, witty, funny, tragic. He has been accused of being a bit of a Mary Sue, but given what he’s been tthrough, I’ll give him a pass.

2. The Malazan Book of The Fallen

Author: Steven Erikson

Number of Books: 10 all published

Tell me, Tool, what dominates your thoughts?’ 

The Imass shrugged before replying. 

‘I think of futility, Adjunct.’ 

‘Do all Imass think about futility?’

‘No. Few think at all.’ 

‘Why is that?’ 

The Imass leaned his head to one side and regarded her. 

‘Because Adjunct, it is futile.

I’ll be honest. The first 100 pages were a bore and a chore. But if you can get past them, you will be rewardedd with one of the best books you’ll ever read. Ever. Morality, Faith, Love, Politics, War, Peace. These and more are discussed in the series. There are fantasy books you read to have fun. There are those you read to have a laugh. Others you read to think. And then there is the Malazan Book of The Fallen.


3. Harry Potter

Author: J.K Rowling

Number of Books:7 

There are some things you can’t share without ending up liking each other, and knocking out a twelve-foot mountain troll is one of them.

Except you have been locked up in a cellar or an attic or haven’t seen the sunlight all your life or have been under a very large soundproof rock, you have heard of Harry Potter. It’s one of the greatest books written,Period. It’s the kind of book you memorized ech line by heart but every time you read it, you see something new. There is no adjective J.K Rowling has not met. 


Based on response to this post I’ll be continuing this post later, so be sure to like, share and comment.

Leave a Reply

